Megan Nielsen ‘Wrapped Maternity Top’ (Simplicity 1468)

The ‘Wrapped Maternity Top‘ was the third Megan Nielsen maternity pattern I made. See also my posts on the ruched maternity skirt, which I loved, and the maternity/nursing dress, which I was less pleased with.

Here’s the final top, which I’m wearing with my MN ruched maternity skirt. This photo was taken only two days before I went into labour!

 

Megan Nielsen Wrapped Maternity Top

Megan Nielsen Wrapped Maternity Top

There are two versions of this pattern: a Megan Nielsen published pattern (which were sold out and not available as PDFs yet when I was starting to plan these projects), and the Simplicity Version, which I followed. This is Simplicity 1468 View C. Many thanks to Gillian for giving me these patterns.

 

Megan Nielsen Wrapped Maternity Top

Megan Nielsen Wrapped Maternity Top

 

I used a two-way stretch knit (very much like your standard jersey t-shirt material) from Greenwood Quiltery, my favourite local fabric store.

This was my first foray into finishing hems with a double needle. It went pretty well. One of the needles broke, but not until the very end. Here I’m using a double needle and a walking foot. For tips on both, I found these tutorials useful: double needle and walking foot.

double needle

 

I am happy with this pattern (clear and simple to piece together). It’s just a bit complicated to put on and wear. I found it was great to wear for the first few hours, but then the wrapped pieces would slip down my back and I’d have to re-shift the pieces so that they would actually be covering me. A 4-way stretch might have been more clingy and less shifty. I tried wearing this as a nursing top too, and while it’s nice for chest access, again, I found it too annoying with the shifting and I was worried I would be inadvertently revealing my flesh as the shirt slipped away at the back. The top has been packed away with my maternity clothes, and I will wear it when I’m expecting again. I may make another top, but try to modify it so it’s less shifty. . . but that’s a project for my next mat leave 🙂

Megan Nielsen Wrapped Maternity Top

Megan Nielsen Wrapped Maternity Top

 

