Megan Nielsen ‘Ruched Maternity Skirt’ – total win!

This Megan Nielsen “Ruched Maternity Skirt” has become a 3rd trimester staple for me. It’s a total win!

ruched skirt

 

I bought the PDF download of this pattern when Megan Nielsen was having her pre-baby clearout sale. It’s been fun and inspiring to see her recent blog posts and maternity fashion while I’m also expecting. She has great taste, and we’re kinda hair-twins ūüėČ

This skirt was so easy to make and was perfect for a beginner like me. There are only two pattern pieces, and a couple of elastic band tricks! My friend Gillian brought over her serger one Saturday night in early May and gave me a tutorial on how to serge, among other sewing skills.

Instead of sewing¬†a casing for the elastic waistband to be threaded through (as per the pattern), I followed one of ¬†Gillian’s tips, and just serged the elastic to the top edge, folded it down and finished with a zigzag. Much faster. The side ruching with elastic was pretty straightforward.

I left the bottom edge raw, which is good for a pencil skirt that gets kind of tight around the knees… and a baby-laden body that doesn’t¬†move quite so gracefully at the moment.

I made this with a black double knit jersey (a leftover from my sister – ¬†thanks!). It’s thick and sturdy, which is good for such an (intentionally) tight fitting skirt.

I definitely recommend this pattern, and will make it again if and when I’m expecting a second time. I like this skirt so much that I may make another one, altering the pattern for a high-waisted post-maternity ruched pencil skirt for the late-summer and fall.

The sunlight is hitting the ruching better in the picture below (also lots of pics of the ruched skirt in my Maternity Me Made May weekly photo collages). Gillian made this fantastic cross-over top!

Have you made this skirt? What other fabric weights and colours worked for you? Because it’s tight I’m hesitant to use anything other than a thick double knit in a dark colour.¬†

ruching on skirt

