Maternity Me-Made-May Final Week Four (33 wks pregnant)

Here’s week four and the final week of my Maternity Me-Made-May 2014 (my goal is 3 me-made or re-made jewellery or clothing/week):

mmmay14-wk4

Sunday: A brand new me-made! Navy bamboo jersey dress made with the Megan Nielsen “Perfect Nursing and Maternity Top” pattern

Wednesday: My ruched maternity skirt (which I wear a lot these days!) and re-made “gold” thrift store necklace.

Friday: Ruched maternity skirt, me-made pink bead necklace, and re-made 80s tee into pregnancy crop top.

There were also some repeats of last weeks outfits, but no new pictures.
I enjoyed Me-Made-May. I hope I can keep up with the sewing and participate again next year, non-maternity next time 🙂

80s Crop Top Re-Makes

I recently inherited two tops from the 80s that didn’t fit great, so I altered them to add a couple more t-shirts into my pregnancy wardrobe, and they work well with the ruched skirt.

Here’s the before and after of the 80s pastel diagonal stripe t-shirt. The way the ‘before’ waistline hits my baby belly is unflatteringly funny – like the way t-shirts hug the bellies of The Simpsons cartoon characters. I cut off, lowered and re-sewed the neckline band. I also cut off, raised and re-sewed the waistband into a crop up over my belly.

80scrop1

Here’s the before and after of the 80s paint-splash t-shirt. I tried re-sewing the bands on this, then decided it wasn’t worth the effort, and just cut them and left them as raw edges. Perhaps it will be ok paired with a jean jacket for leaving the house, otherwise a lounge in our backyard hammock kind of top.

paintsplashcrop-remade

