Staple Dress by April Rhodes – Vintage Brown

IMG_20130922_123104

The Staple Dress. Pattern By April Rhodes

Early this Fall I participated in a Greenwood Quiltery workshop on how to make this dress: The Staple Dress, pattern by: April Rhodes. Christine, the instructor, was so helpful and encouraging. I was excited to make this whole dress in one day! This is my first serious foray into clothes-making in recent years.

This dress fits really nicely, and I love that it has pockets.

Based on the size chart I didn’t know whether or not I was a large or a medium, but I tried on the store sample before cutting it out, and I was definitely a medium.

I deliberated for a while in the store about this fabric, and whether or not horizontal stripes would be flattering, but I am glad I went for it. From a distance the stripes are very subtle. I love the colours, and wear this colour palette often. It has a vintage, art deco-ish vibe. The fabric print is Vintage Groove dotted stripes, taupe.

Have you made The Staple Dress? How did it go?

retro print fabric

